The Walking Dead

Walking Dead Character-Focused Special Episodes Announced By AMC

AMC announces The Walking Dead: Origins, a four-part AMC+ series that will focus on fan-favorite characters Daryl, Maggie, Carol and Negan.

AMC announces The Walking Dead character-focused special episodes to release this summer. The long-running post-apocalyptic series has remained a top program for AMC since its debut ten years ago. Based on Robert Kirkman’s graphic novels of the same name, The Walking Dead has gripped and shocked fans with its cliffhangers and fan-favorite character deaths.

The long-delayed Walking Dead season 10 finale aired on AMC in October after its premiere was pushed back in April due to the coronavirus pandemic. Episode 16 was intended to air a week after episode 15, but production was brought to a halt, and AMC decided to expand season 10 with six additional episodes, which began airing back in February and concluded in April with a final bonus episode, “Here’s Negan,” which treated fans to a Negan origin story. The 11th and final season of The Walking Dead is set to release in August 2021, but AMC already has something to tide fans over until the final season airs.

RELATED: Why Anna Left The Walking Dead In Season 8 (& How She Died)

AMC Networks (via has announced The Walking Dead: Origins, a new series of special episodes that will focus on four Walking Dead characters, Daryl Dixon (Norman Reedus), Maggie Rhee (Lauren Cohan), Carol Peletier (Melissa McBride) and Negan (Jeffrey Dean Morgan). According to the show’s official synopsis, the four-episode series:

charts the story of the zombie apocalypse from the point of view of a single character and features new interviews and narrations from the actors that portray these iconic characters, interwoven with clips from the most pivotal moments of their journeys so far.

Daryl Dixon on The Walking Dead season 10

The series of special character-focused episodes is the first of AMC’s “11 Weeks of Reveals until Season 11,” which is set to lead up to the final season with trailers and other reveals every Thursday. Origins will air exclusively on AMC+ beginning July 15, with “Daryl’s Story,” followed by “Maggie’s Story” on July 22, “Negan’s Story” on July 29, and “Carol’s Story” on August 5. Along with each special episode, fans will also get a sneak peak of season 11 and a “Best Of” episode collection for each Walking Dead character. Origins is the latest from The Walking Dead Universe on AMC+, along with Episode Diaries from both Walking Dead and Fear the Walking Dead, Chris Hardwick’s after-show talk show, Talking Dead, Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hilarie Burton Morgan’s Friday Night in With the Morgans, and more.

Walking Dead fans are likely very happy with this news, as Origins will focus on perhaps the four most popular characters that are left on the series. Season 10, episode 22, “Here’s Negan,” exclusively focused on Negan, introducing his wife Lucille and detailing his background. However, fans can never have enough Negan, and it will be interesting to learn more about these iconic characters from the actors’ point-of-views. There is certainly no lack of content from The Walking Dead Universe.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button